How to participate

Celebratory events for Round 14 have taken place at Guildhall and St James’s Palace, London. The presentation of the Prizes to the twenty-one universities and colleges was carried out by His Royal Highness The Prince of Wales and Her Royal Highness The Princess Royal.

Full details on entry for the 15th round (2022-2024) will be announced in autumn 2022. General information about the entry requirements and assessment process for the Prizes scheme can be found below.

Entry requirements

The process is straightforward and is open to all recognised UK colleges or universities offering a range of full-time courses and programmes.

Once you have identified a project or area of work which you feel addresses the criteria listed below, use the forms available on this page to create your entry and submit it to the email address shown.

To compete for a Queen’s Anniversary Prize, your entry can be in any subject, field or discipline. It must be evidence-based and persuade reviewers that:

  • It is of very high quality and an example of the best the UK can do in the particular field you have chosen
  • It is innovative or ground-breaking – and distinct from comparable work elsewhere
  • It brings specific benefits to your college or university, its educational activities, programmes and methods, and its standing
  • It delivers identifiable and verifiable public, scientific, educational and other practical benefits in the wider world

Entries must comprise an Application form, Summary sheet and a Main narrative of not more than 10 A4 pages. Entries should be submitted in the name of the head of the institution, who should sign the Application form and the Summary sheet. Entries should be sent to the Trust as separate PDF attachments to Full details are available in the Entry document available on this page.

Assessment process

Assessment of entries is undertaken by The Royal Anniversary Trust under a well-established and rigorous independent process.  This takes around six months.  Initial review is undertaken by a panel of over 300 readers, with a wide range of experience at senior and professional levels.  After referral to technical and specialist bodies and advisers, and to government departments in the UK countries, a shortlist is created and recommendations are made by the Awards Council of the Trust for the approval of HM The Queen.

Further guidance & FAQs

Institutions are invited to watch the below webinar recordings for further information on the criteria for the awards, how to enter and the assessment process.

FAQs about the entry and assessment process, including questions raised at the webinars, can be found here.

FE webinar (October 2020)

HE webinar (January 2021)